Skip to the search box

The Placenames Committee

The term of office of the Placenames Commission came to an end on 11 October 2012. As part of the Public Service Reform Plan, the Government decided that the Commission would be replaced by an expert committee, operating pro bono, whose work would be conducted primarily online. On 19 September 2013, the Minister of State at the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht announced the nomination of a Placenames Committee.

A new Placenames Committee was appointed on 11 January 2020. The primary responsibility of the Placenames Committee is to advise the Minister for the Gaeltacht in relation to the Placenames of Ireland as defined in section 31 of the Official Languages Act, 2003.

List of legal instruments that implement the Official Languages Act 2003.

Members of the Placenames Committee

  • Professor Liam Mac Mathúna (Chairperson): Former Head of School, School of Irish Language, Celtic Studies, Irish Folklore and Linguistics, University College Dublin (UCD); former member of the Placenames Commission; editor of Éigse.
  • Dr Éamonn Ó hÓgáin: Former Editor and Manager, Foclóir Stairiúil na Nua-Ghaeilge, Royal Irish Academy, Dublin.
  • Máire Feiritéar: Expert on Conamara Irish; guest speaker about Irish and placenames on Raidió na Gaeltachta programmes.
  • Donnchadh Ó Baoill: Language, Culture and Development Executive, Údarás na Gaeltachta, Na Doirí Beaga, Co. Donegal.
  • Dr Emma Nic Cárthaigh: One of the editors of Foclóir Stairiúil Áitainmneacha Gaeilge, University College Cork (UCC); lecturer of Old Irish.
  • Dr Nollaig Ó Muraíle: Former senior lecturer of Irish, National University of Ireland, Galway; expert on placenames and Irish genealogy.
  • Seosamh Ó Braonáin: Former Chairperson of the Placenames Commission; former broadcaster with Raidió na Gaeltachta.
  • Dr Frances Kane: Researcher with the Northern Ireland Placenames Project.
  • Dónall Mac Giolla Easpaig: Former Chief Placenames Officer, The Placenames Branch.
  • Dr Úna Bhreathnach: Editorial Manager/Assistant Professor, Fiontar & Scoil na Gaeilge, Dublin City University (DCU).